World Cup 2011 – Never Ending Goosebumps


World Cup 2011 – Never Ending Goosebumps
On April 2nd 2011, Ravi Shastri the man in the stands said those magical words
“Dhoni finishes off in style. A magnificent strike into the crowd. India lifts the world cup after 28 years, party started in the dressing room and it’s an Indian Captain whose been absolutely magnificent in the night of Finals.”, which is still echoing in the ears of Indian fans and still the final shot along with the bat swing by M.S. Dhoni still a mental video plays back in the hearts of millions of fans while talks about 2011 world cup.
On April 2, 2011, India won the World Cup for the first time in 28 years, and it was the biggest event in Indian cricket history.
After defeating arch-rivals Pakistan in the semi-finals, Team India marched into the finals. On the other side, Kumar Sangakkara’s Sri Lanka advanced through New Zealand to meet India’s Men in Blue at the summit.
The toss was won by Sri Lanka, who chose to bat first. Sri Lanka posted 274/6 in their allocated 50 overs, with Mahela Jayawardene (103*) scoring an undefeated century and skipper Sangakkara chipping in with a 48(67).
Zaheer Khan and Yuvraj Singh both took two wickets for India. It was now time for India to bat in order to make history by chasing 275 runs. The Men in Blue got off to a bad start, losing openers Virender Sehwag (0) and Sachin Tendulkar (18) early on.
Gautam Gambhir played the pivotal role, scoring 97 off 122 and sharing an 83-run third-wicket stand with Virat Kohli (35) for the third wicket.
India’s third wicket fell with the score 114. Now came the time for Yuvraj Singh to come and bat, but Dhoni had other plans, and the out for Dhoni elected to bat ahead of Yuvraj Singh.
Dhoni’s signature six off Nuwan Kulasekara towards the long-on zone sealed the contest for India. That was the moment the entire country had been waiting for. That was the moment we got chills.
MS Dhoni was chosen Man of the Match in the final for his impressive and match-winning batting performance under duress. Yuvraj Singh was voted Man of the Competition for his outstanding performance with both the bat and the ball during the tournament.
Following the presentation, a euphoric Indian team clutched the Cup in the midst of champagne and confetti showers. Some Indian players, such as Harbhajan Singh, Sachin Tendulkar, and Yuvraj Singh, were overcome with emotion. Tendulkar was then carried around the stadium on a victory lap by the squad.
Later, Coach Gary Kirsten was also carried around the field. The Indian team dedicated their triumph to Tendulkar, with Virat Kohli saying, “For the past 21 years, he has carried the nation’s weight. It’s past time for us to carry him on our shoulders.” Gautam Gambhir dedicated the win to the victims of the 26/11 Mumbai terror attacks, as well as the military who secure India’s borders.
The celebrations continued all night in the team hotel. The triumph spurred a slew of fireworks displays and jubilation across India. On April 2, 2011, it appeared that the whole country was celebrating Diwali.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back To Top


Please upload image with resoultion of 1200x900 otherwise your post could not approved.

This will close in 23 seconds